Design School ResourceClasses for Design Students
Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Southwestern Oklahoma State University is located in the center of western Oklahoma. The University offers two campuses where students may take classes — the main campus is located in Weatherford, while the branch campus is located in Sayre.

The students of SWOSU are able to complete associate, bachelor's, master's and Doctor of Pharmacy degrees. This can be done in the standard on-campus way of attending classes, or by the distance learning opportunities available through the University's state-of-the-art web-based technology.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University was first established through an act of the Oklahoma Territorial Legislature in 1901 as Southwestern Normal School, although no classes were held until 1903. Several towns fought a court battle to become the home of the new school, but Weatherford won the battle. The normal school included both a two-year degree program for teacher education and a preparatory school.

In 1920, the preparatory portion of the school was closed and replaced by a four-year baccalaureate degree program. In the spring of 1921 the first bachelor's degrees by the renamed Southwestern State Teachers College were awarded.

As part of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education, Southwestern Oklahoma State University is one of twenty-five institutions. It is one of the six state-supported regional universities that are governed by the Regional University System of Oklahoma.

The mission of this University is to provide higher education opportunities that meet the necessities of the region. That means contributing to the region's educational, economic and cultural environment. The areas of study and degree programs on the University's campuses, along with the students' activity and participation in student organizations, provide skill and knowledge obtaining opportunities. That leads to productive lives and developing a more effective community.

Whether the student chooses to learn from home, or in the traditional campus classroom manner, Southwestern Oklahoma State University academics program offers a variety of undergraduate degrees.

The degrees SWOSU offers can be found in its following colleges:

• College of Arts & Sciences
• College of Professional & Graduate Studies
• College of Associate & Applied Programs
• College of Pharmacy
• Cheyenne & Arapaho Tribal College
• Distance Education

The Department of Residence Life commits to creating a great living and learning environment for the students. On-campus residence life hopes to foster personal as well as learning growth, while providing a cultural climate of social interaction, relationship development, and meeting the needs of all students.

SWOSU is a university in the process of reevaluation of its mission and academic instruction, effectiveness learning and teaching. The University offers over 1,000 different classes, with the average class size being 23, and the student-to-faculty ratio is 20:1.

Campus students come from many backgrounds and areas. They arrive from 75 different Oklahoma counties, 34 states from the U.S. and from 34 different countries.

SWOSU understands that financing a college education can be quite challenging. The University helps 70% of the student body through student financial aid. It has paid out more than $30 million in student aid through the years.

For some students, financial aid can come in the form of scholarships. SWOSU offers scholarships based on academics, athletics and a variety of other categories. SWOSU also accepts scholarships earned via foundations and organizations outside of SWOSU.

Go visit this school to learn more

Interiors Courses for working towards becoming an interior designer.
Fine Arts Programs to look up courses and degrees in graphic design.
Fashion Jobs in merchandising, design and marketing can be started here.

Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved.

Graphic Arts Interior Fashion Schools by State Privacy policy Other information for students Contact us